Where the Crawdads Sing - Delia Owens

Where the Crawdads Sing

By Delia Owens

  • Release Date: 2018-08-14
  • Genre: Literary
Score: 4.5
4.5
From 2,856 Ratings

Description

#1 New York Times Bestseller
A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick

"I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!"--Reese Witherspoon

"Painfully beautiful."--The New York Times Book Review

"Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver."--Bustle


For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life--until the unthinkable happens.

Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.

Reviews

  • Where the Crawdad’s Sing

    5
    By dianejeanne
    This was one of my favorite books! Could not put it down! Very well written and couldn’t believe it was the author’s first novel!
  • THE BEST!!!!

    5
    By Tracy@123
    It’s the best book I’ve ever listened to, but why did she have to die, the narrator voice was perfect
  • Too long—needed more editing.

    2
    By trumpdbtfiction
    What was good about the book was the descriptions of nature, not surprising, given the author’s background. What was less good was the stereotyped characters, Chase, Tate, Jumpin’. Also the plot was unbelievable. In 1960, an abandoned child would have been found and taken in by authorities. In addition, there are various mentions of African Americans being discriminated against in public service laces—but surely this was illegal in 1969. And do we really buy that uneducated Kya was able to become a published author—-and a poet. Not believable—and romanticized.
  • New Favorite

    5
    By Dr MLKJR
    No matter what words I place in this review space, they will not come close to explaining how amazing of a book this is. A story that completely places you inside it, captures your heart and motivates your soul. I just want to say thank you for this story.
  • Not real

    1
    By $Corpion/43
    Cliched and unrealistic
  • Couldn’t put it down

    5
    By Crazylcats
    I loved this book from page 1 and read it in a day!
  • Such a great read!

    5
    By kbate
    Gripping and suspenseful and beautifully told. I could draw you the marsh , the shack, everything with the incredible descriptions and poetic effects of every aspect of this world. Read it it’s phenomenal.
  • Where the Crawdads Sing

    5
    By fpp221
    The Best
  • Slow in the beginning, but will draw you in

    4
    By EllMB
    This book begins a little slow, but once you get past page 100 you won’t be able to put it down!
  • Where the crawdads sing

    5
    By Janet Schlueter
    So excellent! I couldn’t put it down. Both the prose and poetry flowed together like the tide slipping through the sand. I loved this book!

Comments